Boston Red Sox History:

An Excerpt from Jeff's Report

In 1890 some athletes formed the Players League, which did very well financially. This forced the eight National League teams and four teams from the American Association to join together for survival. In 1901 the American League declared itself a major league, moved into National League cities, and raided the older league for players. Charter members of the American League were Chicago, Boston, Detroit, Philadelphia, Baltimore, Washington, Cleveland, and Milwaukee. There was a lot of anger between the two leagues. The results of the eventual truce was the World Series, which has been played every year since 1903 -- except in 1904, when the New York Giants refused to meet the upstart American League champions from Boston.


Back to Jeff Goes to Bat